Staying A Float

I recently previewed a blog that I absolutely loved!!! It is written by a GS leader. And I will add her to my blog list below. Upon reading on of her post, I felt compelled to comment as follows…

  1. “Someone just emailed me your blog to check out; so I read the intro to this post and thought to myself….Holy Over Committed Batman, this is me!!! I too am the new SU manager (in our small service unit one person pretty much does it all) by default….and I can’t say no, not that I want to, don’t get me wrong, I love it all!! and I want to do it all!! If only I didn’t need to sleep I would have so much more time to get it done!! 🙂 Thank you!! Thank you!!! for taking the time to do your blog!! there are so many great ideas here. I am thrilled!! I have a blog but have been mentally beating myself up for the last year because I have not posted recently (a year) on my blog and not because I didn’t want to. It’s on my list. Thank you for the inspiration. To blog!! For troop!! For SU!!! For moms!!!

This has thus inspired me to get my ass blogging again. I think that I should add a GS category to my blog for GS post. I can not make it strictly a GS blog because I wouldn’t be able to say things like ass. (I believed that these things (saying ass) are what makes me a better rounded GS leader. (PS- I don’t say them in front of the scouts))

Truthfully, I feel like the past year of my life has been a roller coaster ride. Most of the time I had my eyes shut and I missed it. It was all I could do to tread water and keep my head up. Lots of time I felt as if I was sinking. But you know me; I never say die; I never admit I’m down. That would be admitting defeat. Just like going to the doctor- I don’t do that- unless it is in an ambulance. J

 Case in point: I am sure that several of you have seen my recent FB post about my secret life. To fill those in that have not: In the past several weeks I have had a handful of emails and phone calls from people who are contacting Shannon Martin. Just not this Shannon Martin. But I am so busy that it takes me a few to realize that they are not trying to call me. Lol

I recently received a phone call from a very nice lady named Mary who knew my name and said that I had called her and left her a message but it was broken up so she did not know why I was calling her. I could not remember who she was or why I had called her. So I asked: Was it about Soccer? No. Girl Scouts? No. The FFA Auction? No. The Theater Club’s melodrama? No. Racing? No. My husband is Jay Martin, does that ring a bell? No.

So when I ran out of group, clubs, activities, etc. I finally apologized and said, “I don’t know why I called you. Are you sure it was me?”

 Please read her blog. This is the link to the post that I responded to. Of course ya’ll might not find it as close to home as I.

 http://girlscoutleader101.blogspot.com/2013/08/back-to-troop.html?showComment=1380506599050#c5032120967258859021

 I finally feel like I am getting my life back and getting a handle on things. I still have just as many activities to partake in plus a new full time job. But we are getting there. And did I mention that I have a great partner that I now share my brain with (sorry Claudia). So what I miss he usually picks up. Like coaching soccer. 😉

I hope that you will see more of my on my own blog.

PS- Did I mention that I would like to write a book? LMAO!! Seriously. I am working on that. And contemplating taking some college courses for skills that I need to further my career. And I have enough books piled up around here that I could read for three years straight, if I did nothing by read. Maybe if I went to sleep with a book on my face, then I could read too in my secret life while I sleep. (Wait, I already do that too.) Sigh* then there is the whole I need to go to the gym business.

So I vow to post more blogs. That really was the moral of this story.

3 Comments

  1. Aunt Beth said,

    September 30, 2013 at 5:55 AM

    Jeff and I were just talking about what a crazy year you’ve had……it all started about this time last year to be exact. You made it through and came out better for it. I pray from here on out it’s a little smoother. I miss your blogs too 🙂

  2. LOIS C. RUSSELL said,

    September 30, 2013 at 8:26 AM

    IN HER “SPARE “TIME, SHE ANALYZES MY GOOFY, UNREASONABLE DREAMS!! I WISH I HAD SOME OF HER ENERGY!

  3. Claudia said,

    September 30, 2013 at 8:42 PM

    Always so glad to hear from you. Glad things are getting better.

    Funny when you said ass, I was thinking, you better not do the blog, then you acturally confirmed what I was thinking.
    Your partner is lucky to have you. I do miss sharing brains though. And when you get done with all your books, I have a large bookshelf full of books I’m going to read when I retire. (hope my eyes last). You must write a series of books. That’s got to be the reason for your interesting life. Remember, it’s never to late, and you can have several careers in your life. Go for it!!!


Leave a Reply

