Still Alive or Hello Texas or Moving On

or should I say Staying Alive.

Well I am still here. It has been a long crazy time since I posted. To quote The Dead, ” What a long strange trip it has been.”

You can never predict what life will throw at you. All you can do is catch, duck, or run.

That said, I am currently packing the house in a very haphazard manner. Why am I not used to moving yet? I have been doing it my whole life. It never gets easier. I think that it should. How long till that kicks in?

I have said it before and I will say it again….It sucks having people you love all over this country…and out of it for that matter. You will always miss someone. There is no one place that I can call home. Home materially is a temporary illusion. Home truthfully is a state of mind. Which basically shoots all the Christmas songs I love right in the ass.

Which brings me to the lyrics of a song I do also love. Hello Texas, Sure is good to see you again! Hello Texas, Sure is good to see me a friend!

Guess I am Texas bound. Something I never expected to hear myself say. But here we go.

Positives of living in Texas:

Warmer weather ( I can wear less clothing, which means I will have to lose the insulation I have built up against the cold mountain weather.)

Longer Growing Season (Can you say tomatoes?)

Closer to my Granny

Same distance from my Mom

Closer to Texas Family ( I plan on having a Gone With The Wind Movie Night in the upcoming future.)

Closer to Beth

No cumbersome mountains to block my view of the horizon (sorry, slipped into a little bit of sarcasm right there. That dang sarcasm font never works right.)

Warm clear creeks (when there is water anyway) and you can sit on the bottom and watch the fish like you are in your own personal aquarium. I always loved that. I have spent countless hours at the bottom of the Nueces River.

A higher concentration of Honkey Tonks (That’s you and me, Granny. Get ready! I’m packing my dancing boots. Three pair actually.)

 

WARNING to all Texas Family

Everytime I move to a new location they have record-breaking weather in that area. Example for the last 20 some odd years:

Missouri 1993- record-breaking rain. 100 year flood. high water as far as the eye can see. St. Louis arch is literally under water because the Mississippi river is so far out of its banks.

Arizona 2005- record-breaking rain in the spring. The sandstone hills were as green as I have ever seen them. They looked like the pictures of Hawaii they were so green. Then with record-breaking rain comes record-breaking vegetation growth which then dries under the Arizona sun and becomes the record-breaking fire season.

NorCal 2010/2011 – Heavy snowfall very late in the season and early in the next. It snowed in August and then through until the end of June. Summer lasted exactly two months.

Don’t say I didn’t warn you. I am not to be held responsible for any acts of mother nature.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Claudia said,

    December 10, 2012 at 9:58 PM

    I think the Texan’s will be glad to have you, didn’t they have the drought like we did this summer? Let me know how the price of living is there, Jim and I are getting tired of winter weather.
    You have to move in order to clean out the extra stuff. That’s our problem, we aren’t horders, we just don’t move often enough.
    Good Luck!!!

  2. GRANNY said,

    December 11, 2012 at 8:23 AM

    WELL, COME ON DOWN, HONEY! MAYBE YOU CAN MAKE IT RAIN ENOUGH THAT WATER WILL FLOW AGAIN IN THE NUECES RIVER! LOTS OF PEOPLE WOULD LOVE YOU FOR THAT. AND WE ARE USED TO EXTREMES DOWN HERE. IT WAS 82* ON MONDAY AND THIS MORNING WE HAVE 31*! THIS IS TEXAS!!!!!!
    P.S.-AFTER WE FINALLY FINISHED MOVING ME INTO THIS HOUSE, WAYNE AND I DECIDED THAT “MOVE” WAS A DIRTY WORD. HE OFTEN SAID, AND I QUOTE, “WE MAY LEAVE, BUT I REFUSE TO MOVE AGAIN”. IN OTHER WORDS, JUST PACK A SUITCASE AND GO!


Leave a Reply

