My children make me laugh.

This is kind of a confusing back-story story so I will try to sort it out so you can enjoy it as much as I did at the moment. 

I have left over pork roast that I thought would make some good enchiladas. Matt recently told me how much he likes enchiladas. So why not.

Problem today: out of enchilada sauce.

Solution: Recently read blog post on how to make homemade enchilada sauce on one of my favorite blogs The Daily Garnish by Emily Malone. (Mental note to self – ask super smart blog and computer savvy cousin to explain to me how to do a link on my blog.) (That’s you, Jeannie.) Daily Garnish is a vegan blog and Emily adapted her recipe from Emeril to be vegan. Research Emeril’s recipe and then come up with my own version between the two. Never made home-made enchilada sauce before but everyone else keeps saying how easy it is so why the hell not. Right?

*time elapse*

 Enchilada sauce made. HOLY COW!! This crap is good.

 Me – “I could eat this stuff like a bowl of soup.”

 *time elapse 30 min and another taste test*

 Me – “I am not cooking dinner tonight. I am just going to drink enchilada sauce and you guys can fend for yourselves.”

More tasting on corn chips this time. Did I say Yum yet?

More back story. Recently Isaac and I had a grilled cheese cooking lesson. The new food of choice for Isaac is grilled cheese. He has gone through more than one loaf of bread and almost a pound block of pepper jack in the last couple of weeks. He is grilled cheese master.

Ok so back to my quote…

“I am not cooking dinner tonight. I am just going to drink enchilada sauce and you guys can fend for yourselves.”

 Isaac, “OK. Fine with me. I’ll have grilled cheese.”

 Me, “We need to work on expanding your culinary horizons.”

 Isaac, “My culin is fine.”

 Matt, “My culin smells bad.”

Me – Almost spit enchilada sauce out of my nose.

3 Comments

  1. Dad said,

    July 22, 2012 at 6:02 PM

    Best laugh I’ve had in a long time. Dad

  2. GRANNY said,

    July 22, 2012 at 6:04 PM

    AND I LAUGH AT ALL OF YOU BECAUSE YOU HAVE SUCH A WONDERFUL SENSE OF HUMOR! DID YOU MAKE ENCHILADAS??

  3. Claudia said,

    July 25, 2012 at 7:33 PM

    FUNNY!!!!


Leave a Reply

