Extreme Facial Treatments or Present Day Donner Party

The boys were racing in Reno this past weekend. Stead technically – which is outside of Reno. Dusty, Hot or Cold (nothing in between), Windy. That pretty much sums it up. I have spent time in the high desert before. This serves as a reminder as to why I did not like it.

Between the wind and the sand, I feel like I have had a micro-derm abrasion treatment. They actually charge a lot for those treatments. We all are sunburned, wind chapped and dried out.

 

Anyway………..

 

The guys left on Wednesday to drive over. The girls left on Saturday morning with Pop and Nan and flew in Pop’s plane.

 

Sounds fun.

 

It was a beautiful flight. I took some pics in the beginning to show you just what a beautiful place I live in…

 

I am not afraid of flying in the slightest. Heights = no problemo. The issue I have is motion sickness. I get air sick and car sick. Large planes are not so bad. Small planes….Ug! So this was the only issue I was concerned about.

 

I must concentrate on breathing. In and out. Stomach calm. Don’t talk to me. I can’t answer questions. I can’t talk except for simple one word answers. I have to focus on a focal point with my eyes and stay there. If I turn my head or look away, that could be it. The straw that broke the camel back. That is all it takes. When I am riding in a car, I have to see the road. No reading. No funny business.

 

That is why before the flight I warned Savanah – you can not talk to me, I can not answer a lot of questions.

 

Big planes are usually no problem. Taking off I have to concentrate on breathing. But once we are in the air. Piece of cake. Unless there is a lot of turbulence………..My issue with big planes is the claustrophobia. LMAO. I have a lot of issues. All those people in that tube sucking up MY oxygen. Seriously I can not comprehend how they are not all a panicky mob. That is just me. When they are all sitting it is better. When you taxi to the gate upon landing and they all stand up…..OMG!! Because it is a well known fact that people use more oxygen when standing. My oxygen. That is why I sit as close to the front as I can, so I am the first one off the plane.

My sister is the same way. Only Worse. As far as the motion sickness goes. I really don’t think she has my deep-seated issues of claustrophobia and suffocation.

 

 

Savanah on the other hand has never been motion sick. I used to puke in my car seat as an infant. I was so happy that she was never afflicted with it as I am. She did get her father’s stomach. I would say that is a good thing. If I had to choose what she was going to inherit? Stomach and height are good points.

 

That is why I was so surprise when she tugged on my sleeve mid-flight, disrupting me from my meditative state, and I looked over and she was green. Until this day, I have never seen someone literally turn green. Now I know what they were talking about. She was green. I saw her mouth the words, “Momma, I think I am going to be sick.”  I instantly reached for a barf bag and opened it, handed it off just in time. Whew.

 

Pre-Green Pea.

Boy oh Boy, I thought I was going to lose it while she puking the first time. But I made it through. And the second time. I made it through. It was so close. I almost made it through the whole flight. Until our final descent. It was pretty choppy and I couldn’t hold it anymore.

So three barf bags and an hour and half later we landed safely in Reno Stead airport.

Kiss the ground hello and the barf bags goodbye.

Onto more fun stuff.

It was a very exciting race weekend. Matt took first in Comer80 class. Isaac had a great race and passed, I want to say, 6 karts, before he got spun out. Darn it. Next Race is in Monterey in August.

We packed up and headed home with the intention of taking the scenic route and camping a night on the road. Fate had different plans. The truck started acting up a little before Donner Summit. We spent the night there. The next morning we tested it and did not get much farther down the road. We pulled off the road a little past Donner Summit and Dad worked on the truck while I cooked breakfast for everyone. While cooking I could not help myself from thinking, “How many meals do we have in the camper?”

We were at Donner Pass after all.

 

Should we eat the Corgi first? She does mind well and really there is more meat on a kid.

But we kept ourselves entertained while Dad fixed the truck.

Reading and playing in the shade.

Working on bicycles. Working on the truck.

Jay was having so much fun, too!

Of course he got it fixed and we were back on the road after a day’s interlude. And we didn’t even have to eat the dog. Or a child.

4 Comments

  1. aunt beth said,

    July 19, 2012 at 5:39 AM

    Love the pics and at least Pea is smiling in the end! That’s a pretty little plane and I think you were too close to the mountain with the snow so maybe you can just ride with the boys from now on 🙂

  2. GRANNY said,

    July 19, 2012 at 7:22 AM

    REMINDS ME OF SOME OF THE TRIPS WE TOOK WHEN MY KIDS WERE KIDS, EXCEPT WE HAD NO AIRPLANE!! ALL THE REST IS FAMILIAR, THE BARF BAGS, THE SICK TRUCK, RUNNING OUT OF GROCERIES, ETC. BEAUTIFUL PICS AND BEAUTIFUL LITTLE REDHEAD, EVEN WHEN SHE’S PALE GREEN!!! I FEEL SO SORRY FOR HER IN THIS STATE. BEEN THERE, ON FISHING BOATS OFF SO. CALIF. NO FUN AT ALL. LOVE YA ‘ALL

  3. Claudia said,

    July 19, 2012 at 4:53 PM

    The pics were beautiful!!! Reminds me of the trip to hairshow were you and Vic had to follow me, trashcan to trashcan, cleaning me up, after we left the plan. That’s good friends!!!!
    Sounds like a happy ending, although Jay might not think so, but the dog and kids made it!!!
    Love hearing your stories!!! Love you, Claudia
    PS. Congrats to those cool boys!!!

  4. vic said,

    July 22, 2012 at 9:02 AM

    Luckily, redheads can wear green successfully ! I thought of Chicago trips, too ! Your scenery is much prettier ! lolololol, good times, lololol


Leave a Reply

