Purslane

I love spinach. I like it sautéed. I like it in salads. I like it in smoothies. The list goes on.

Spinach does not like warm weather. This year I embarked on a quest to find and grow a warm weather loving spinach replacement. I chose two options. New greens in addition to the greens that I am familiar with.

Strawberry spinach and purslane.

Strawberry spinach is something I had never heard of before. It is a warm weather loving semi-vining green that also produces berries. Very interesting. Spinach and fruit! Get out! What could be better? I just sowed the strawberry spinach in the garden about 4 days ago and am patiently waiting its appearance. I’ll keep you updated.

Purslane, on the other hand,  I had heard of. I have never grown it before – kind of, maybe. (I’ll explain.)

What I knew of purslane. It is a wild cultivated green. Similar to dandelion, nettles or poke. It is a southern thing. Supposedly very tasty. Easy to grow. Which is why it grows as a weed in many regions (like dandelion).

I sowed the seed about 10 days ago. A few days ago I thought to myself, “Self, you should really look purslane up on the net and see what it looks like so that you will know when it starts popping up.”

What I now know of purslane. It is actually a succulent with reddish stems. A herb originating from Asia. It is high in omega 3 and vitamin C.

When I saw the picture online, I just about s&!t my pants. Its common name is pigweed!! I have been pulling this crap our of my garden for my entire life! It is growing in my garden everywhere right at this moment! How did I go my whole life and not know this?! Is this some kind of conspiracy that everyone is in on?!?

3 Comments

  1. Claudia said,

    June 6, 2012 at 6:36 PM

    I love Spinach too. So funny you can eat that purslane, I’ve pulled it up all my life, too. Hummmm

  2. GRANNY said,

    June 6, 2012 at 7:22 PM

    YOU MIGHT TRY SWISS CHARD IN PLACE OF SPINACH DURING WARM AND EVEN HOT WEATHER. I LOVE IT AND WE ALMOST ALWAYS HAD IT IN THE GARDEN DURING THE SUMMER MONTHS, EVEN HERE ON THE EDGE OF H—-! YOU CAN JUST KEEP CUTTING ALL SUMMER LONG.
    I THOUGHT YOU KNEW ABOUT THE WEED CALLED PURSLANE. ONCE STARTED, IT’S NEXT TO IMPOSSIBLE TO GET RID OF. REALLY PUTS DOWN ROOTS. HAPPY DIGGING! LOVE YA

  3. Vic said,

    June 7, 2012 at 1:09 PM

    I did not know purslane was edible either. I’ve always grown it as an annual flower at the greenhouse. It will thrive in our heat wave/drought summers here, as well. Maybe there are different varieties just like a gazzillion other species of flora.
    You would crack up if you saw my yard. Bars of Irish Spring soap bordering to keep the deer away and cayenne pepper on everything I want to save from the groundhog’s voracious appetite. Half my hostas disappeared overnight. I cleaned out Aldi’s shelves !


Leave a Reply

