To gald or not to gauld …

My Granny commented on my Atticus post that she thought that gaulded was galded. She is probably correct because I am terrible at spelling.

So I looked it up. Both forms of the word to try to find it.

Dictionary.com = nada

Webster’s (our manual copy) = zilch

Random House (my huge unabridged copy) = zero

I stuck out. No spell check would say either way. They just said, “Huh?”

Google search……took some time. Then bingo! I found it. urbandictionary.com

and the correct spelling is….(drum roll please)……galded. My Granny was right (she usually is).

urbandictionary.com says:

galded  
 
rubbed to the point of rawness
billy’s balls were galded from walking in tight shorts all day.

And there you have it folks. Billy would know.

5 Comments

  1. GRANNY said,

    May 25, 2012 at 10:54 PM

    I WAS ABOUT TO DECIDE IT WAS JUST A FAMILY THING!!!!
    LOVE YA

  2. Vic said,

    May 26, 2012 at 12:42 PM

    I’m going to make a note of that ! It must be the “old words” source !

  3. GRANNY said,

    May 26, 2012 at 2:59 PM

    Poor Billy. But somehow I can see that this will end up in your scrabble game and you’ll ace a bunch of points from it. And this is really from Aunt Krazy but I’m on Granny’s computer and don’t want to screw up her comment log-in for your blog!

  4. Claudia said,

    May 28, 2012 at 2:58 PM

    Toooo, funny!!!!!! Only Shannon would go to that much trouble.HEEEEE

  5. Matt said,

    May 29, 2012 at 9:14 AM

    this term galled is commonly used in the aviation industry as referred to threads of a fitting or bolt/nut that are stripped or messed up to a point they are not useable. Don’t really know if its the same word you are talking about but when spelled with two L’s it comes up in the spell check of word


Leave a Reply

