I ‘heart’ Atticus

For those book loving friends and family of mine, you will appreciate this, I know.

I was typing an email back and forth with my Aunt Krazy when I had the need to type the word chiffarobe. I wasn’t sure if chiffarobe had one f or two f ‘s?

I was using my iphone. iphone had no suggestions as to the spelling.

I was sitting at my desk and so opened up Word to type it in and see…..Word had no idea what I was even talking about.

As my good friend Claudia would explain, “This is an old word.” Meaning mainstream people don’t use it anymore.

Well this old soul does. Along with gaulded. (giggle)

Luckily for me I have a copy of To Kill A Mockingbird with in arms reach of my desk and I was able to use it as a resource.

Who needs Webster, I have Harper Lee.

Not only do I keep a copy of the book next to my desk but I remember that the word chiffarobe is contained within its text. And the word chiffarobe contains two f ‘s.

PS – The spell check on WordPress does not recognize either chiffarobe or gaulded.

4 Comments

  1. Claudia said,

    May 25, 2012 at 6:07 PM

    Of course, you would have “To Kill A Mockingbird” within arms reach.Heee
    And you have amazed me many times with your memory of what you read in 5th grade. Like I’ve said many times, if I only had a tenth of your intelliligence. ( I can’t spell and know it, but with texting like it is now, it’s okay, people have learned how to figure the word out) lol!!!!!

  2. GRANNY said,

    May 25, 2012 at 7:10 PM

    I MAY BE WRONG, BUY I THINK “GAULDED” SHOULD BE GALDED. I HAVEN’T SEEN IT IN PRINT SINCE I WAS A MERE CHILD, AND AS YOU KNOW, THAT WAS A WHILE BACK!! TEE-HEE

  3. Vic said,

    May 26, 2012 at 12:30 PM

    I’ve also been annoyed that spell check has no problem telling me I’m wrong but doesn’t know what’s right…..hmmmmmmm.

  4. GRANNY said,

    May 26, 2012 at 3:01 PM

    My spell check kept coming up as chivver robe. Oh well. I’m glad you have TKAM in arm’s reach. Many lessons to be learned from that little novel. Might I also suggest Gone with the Wind? Much more to it than just Scarlett and Rhett! (and this is Aunt Krazy again…bet you couldn’t guess on that one!)


Leave a Reply

