Bon Voyage Mi Prima Favorita

For those of you who do not know her, my cousin Christy is more like my sister than a cousin. We are only 2 months apart in age and grew up together. We were inseparable from the time we were babies. And at times we fought like sisters – close anyway.

In our adult lives we have not always lived close to one another. The past several years she has lived in Georgia and I farther west. Even though we go months without speaking (because her life is as hectic as mine, we both have three kids now), we are never far apart. I feel her next to me always.

This morning she arrived in Belize. Yes. Belize. The country. She has officially moved to Belize. Christy has always been a dreamer, but this dream came true for her. They have planned it for quite sometime and done lots of research. Then they sold off all of their worldly possessions and took off in search of a better life. One that is less hectic, more quality, less commercial, more special, less superficial, more enteractive….with the world and not the television.

Already she has declared to me several times in the 36 hours since they left the states that her children are having a hard time adjusting to the food differences. They have real food there. No McDonald’s. No Taco Bell. I think that it is wonderful that her kids are going to be introduced to life closer to….I’m not even sure what to call it…..not closer to McDonald’s, that is for sure.

Our society is so corrupt with the McDonald’s mentality. It is really a shame. And the majority of us don’t even realize it. We are sucked into it. Then stuck like lab rats.

I commend her for leaping off the edge of the maze table into the unknown below and making a break for it. (In my head I see the rats escaping from NIMH with the help of the valiant mouse, Jonathan Brisby.)

She has her fears as any sane person should when taking a leap of faith. I told her worse comes to worse, you come back. So what?

We have seen each other probably three times in the past ten years and somehow knowing that she is in Belize seems so much father away than before. And I seem to miss her more. I feel a void now that was not there before. As if somehow her essence was contained and held to me by the borders of the United States of America. (Pondering – I wonder how I would feel if she was in Puerto Rico? Hmmm.) I console myself with the thought that I might possibly see her more now in the furture……..with Belize as a lure. Who can say no to that? It is Belize with tropical waters, sand, coconut trees, sea shells. Need I go on?

Note to self – get passport soon and get bikini ready.

2 Comments

  1. GRANNY said,

    April 19, 2012 at 8:45 AM

    I SHARE ALL THE FEELINGS THAT YOU HAVE FOUND WORDS FOR AND PUT ON PAPER. ALSO, I HAVE FEARS OF MY OWN THAT I HAVEN’T MENTIONED TO ANYONE. I HAVE NOT SEEN NEARLY ENOUGH OF HER AND HER LITTLE FAMILY IN RECENT YEARS, AND SINCE I CAN’T “DRIVE TO GEORGIA” TO SEE THEM, I FEAR IT WILL ONLY GET WORSE. I DO WISH THEM THE VERY BEST, AND ASK GOD’S BLESSINGS ON ALL OF THEM.

    • Claudia said,

      April 19, 2012 at 7:07 PM

      How cool!!! And a place to vacation as a bonus. You will have to plan on a certain month every year to go see her or you will put it off, lifes to short for that. That’s why we go in Mar and in Oct to Mississippi, because we kept saying we need to and then before you new it 6 months was gone. Then Jen comes twice a year, so we don’t miss out, as bad. I love to see people living there dream!!!


Leave a Reply

