Wanted to name this post ‘shit’ but thought better of it.

Did you ever think that some days you were destined to have a crappy day? Like it is in the stars or something cosmic is out to get you. No matter what you do or how much you prepare or think positively or try to psyche yourself up; you still end up with shit at the end of the day.

I always said that I did not believe in destiny. I believe that every person is in charge of his or her own fate. I believe there are nudges from the universe that try to steer you in one direction or the other. But you make the ultimate decision in the end.

Whether any person listens to the subtle whispers of the cosmos or refuses to hear the overwhelming screams surrounding them……personal choice. Or personal UNchoice.

Whatever the case may be.

Looking back I can’t help but wonder, were the whispers there today (or the screams) and I chose not to hear them? What should I have changed? (Other than not over cook the roast?) (The roast is small potatoes in broad perspective.) (And the potatoes were really good despite the roast if I do say so myself)

When I was younger……….. (Gosh how ominous is that phrase?)(and who in the hell says ‘gosh’ any more??) I would not waste one second of second thoughts on it. What is done is done. Nothing I can do looking back now. All I can do is look ahead and move forward.

Flash forward to older me. I worry too much. About everything. The world. The kids. The kids in the world. Tomorrow. Yesterday. The floor that I haven’t cleaned. The cookies I haven’t baked. What I said? What I should have said. The wrinkles around my eyes. What I didn’t know to say and never will. The people I miss. The list goes on so I am stopping myself there.

Anyway the moral of this story is shit.

Some days are shit.

Shit.

Tomorrow is a new day. With hopefully a better outcome (are you listening stars?? Heads up.)

On a superficial up note – my hair looks great right now. Too bad I have to go to bed soon and ruin that too.

2 Comments

  1. GRANNY said,

    December 17, 2011 at 2:18 PM

    sounds like maybe you had a “granny” day!! keep your chin up. this too shall pass.

  2. Claudia said,

    December 30, 2011 at 9:47 PM

    Ditto


Leave a Reply

