Chicken News

Hello from the coop.

I thought I would introduce those chickens that have been named. (And it is just fun to take pictures of chickens. I don’t know what you guys are doing for fun but me…)

This is Gertie. She’s my best friend. It is a little difficult to get a good picture of Gertie because she is always so close to me. She runs right up to see me every time I go out to the pen. She trys to get out the door and she must peck various pieces of my attire to test them for safety purposes. Better to be safe than sorry. That’s Gertie’s motto.

Here is Gertie on the left and one of her other friends, one of The Party Girls, on the right. They are just that. They are only here for the party. Like sorority sisters from a movie, they are all stuck-up. They don’t want anyone to touch them. They are all blonde. And it looks like they all use a lot of hair care products. The opening picture is also one of the other Party Girls. There are four of them.

This is Peaches. She wanted to be a Party Girl but she does not have the hair do for it…

 and as you can see, she got stuck with this down turned tail. She is the only one with the down tail thus the Party Girls must make fun of her or something because she is very shy and quiet.

This is Henny Penny. Or at least I think it is. There are 6 others that look just like her but you can tell it’s her because she always gets right up in your face. 

 

Like this.

She is not in charge but she thinks she is. And if she doesn’t like where you put your hands she will peck the crap out of you. I tagged her Henny Penny because you should see what happens if someone is sitting on her favorite nest box when she decides she is ready to lay her egg. She squawks and raises hell with the intruder then runs out to the fence and paces back and forth carrying on like it is the end of the world for three minutes pecking the fence wire the entire time. Then runs back into the coop and repeat until the rude but fairly unaffected nest hogger decides it is time to move on.

This is Crazy Fanny.

She is a little flighty. Her head is very rust colored compared to everyone else. She tends to dart from one place to another very quickly and seems to be a little nervous or fidgety. She reminds me of someone I used to know. (Yes, my Texas family, you got it.) I know I probably shouldn’t have named her that. It is probably wrong. But I couldn’t help it. It totally fits her. And it is very funny.

It is a dead ringer when she looks at me with that semi-blank stare and I swear she is one and the same. I really tried to capture that look in a photo but didn’t quite get it in any of the shots.

 

 This is Fanny and Lucky. He is the surviving rooster and therefore aptly named Lucky. (Matthew named him Lucky when he was still very little and we still had two roosters.) 

 

 

 

 

 He is very handsome and quite the flirt.

Somehen fairly consistently lays double yolkers. You can see how much bigger they are than the regular eggs. Mark told me to watch and which ever hen was walking bow-legged; that’s the one!

6 Comments

  1. jamie said,

    October 7, 2011 at 2:32 PM

    I want to come live with you! I’d have my morning coffee with the chickens! Live entertainement! 🙂

  2. October 7, 2011 at 3:02 PM

    lol, I got the joke! would love to get a pic with the blank expression!

  3. aunt krazy said,

    October 7, 2011 at 3:02 PM

    Love your chickens. The names all fit the personalities— especially Fanny!!!

  4. GRANNY said,

    October 7, 2011 at 7:06 PM

    I LOVE YOUR CHICKENS AND YOUR GRANDAD WOULD BE SO PROUD!!!! I SPECIALLY LIKE THE BIT ABOUT CRAZY FANNY. TEE-HEE!!!

  5. GRANNY said,

    October 7, 2011 at 7:08 PM

    P.S.- BIG GRANNY CALLED HER FANNY FLITTERBUTT!!!

  6. October 7, 2011 at 8:14 PM

    OMGOSH!! I forgot that Big Granny called her that!!!! That brings back some memories.


Leave a Reply

