Problem Solved, Kinda

The corner of my mouth has been cracked open for about three weeks now. I put all kinds of stuff on it and just about the time I get it healed up; it splits open again. I was stumped as to what was causing this. Stress? Weather change? Drooling in my sleep?

Until………. just the other day when Jay and I were having lunch, it hit me!

I was putting bite in my mouth and when it hit my lips the light bulb went on. I said, “Oh! I know why my mouth is cracked open!”

I have not had this problem for about 6 years. I suddenly remembered that I used to have this problem every summer. (Is Claudia laughing yet? Because she knows what I’m talking about.)

The reason I have not had this problem is because I lived in Arizona for 6 years and I did not grow tomatoes while I lived in Arizona. I grew tomatoes while I lived in Missouri.

You see there is no point in eating tomatoes with every meal if they came from the store. Tasteless. But fresh tomatoes, that is a horse of a different color.

Claudia and I used to both eat so many that I would have cracked open lips and she would have canker sores in her mouth. Would we stop eating them? NO. Will I stop eating them this year? NO. Will I grow and eat yellow tomatoes because they have less acid? NO. (For those of you who were thinking of suggesting it.) They taste like crap to me. I like the acid. That is what makes it a tomato as far as I’m concerned. And that is why the heirlooms are my fav. They have an even higher acid content which makes them even more delicious!

What was I eating for lunch the day I remembered why my mouth was cracked open? Sliced tomatoes.

What did I have for lunch today? Sliced tomatoes.

What did I have with dinner tonight? Sliced tomatoes.

 

2 Comments

  1. Claudia said,

    September 13, 2011 at 9:05 PM

    I was acturally saying, L-Lysine, did you forget?? It has been my miracle since you started me on it. I take 2 or 3 a day when I have an outbreak. It works!!! Love those tomatoes!!! I eat them like apples.

  2. Vic said,

    September 17, 2011 at 2:46 PM

    Oh, I remember the Lysine trick……good call Claudia


Leave a Reply

