The Days of Our Garden…

Let me just start by saying that I have not had a really good day today. I had a lot of stuff that was on my list to accomplish and I have not checked very many of those things off of the list.

I started off working in the garden (GOOD) and took several pictures of stuff to show you. But just now I went to hook up my camera to the PC and the prong on the inside of the camera port that the USB cable connects to broke off (BAD). Actually it just kind of crumbled. I am going to contribute this to old age. It has been a good trusty camera. Alas, it is now time for a new trusty camera…. I suppose. I don’t know what else to do. It takes good pics but now I have no way of getting those pics off the camera. (At home anyway.) I used to have a media reader for the SD card but it was on my old PC that also died. It was a good trusty PC. (You get where I’m going with this.) That sucks and blows at the same time. So no new pics to show you.

Then, I thought I lost the dog this morning. I didn’t really. But I thought I did and that was enough to make me sick and feel like I was going to puke (BAD). THEN, I was in charge of goat sitting for the neighbors while they went camping this weekend….the goats escaped (BAD). And they made it all the way up the hill before we found them.

ACK! That is me gagging. I fear for my daughter’s well being for the rest of the day. God knows where I might misplace her.

I think I should just go to bed and start again tomorrow.

So anyway, time to type about something else and try to cheer myself up…..

As I previously stated, the garden is out of control. JUNGLE.

The swiss chard has gone to seed. I don’t care what the locals told me – I should have ripped it out when it first bolted and got rid of it. On the bright side – I gathered enough swiss chard seed to last me for the next decade and the chickens had quite the swiss chard buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner when I chopped and ripped it out. (Almost hitting your toe with the knife while chopping- BAD). I know! I know! If I was wearing REAL SHOES instead of flip-flops, that would not have happened but you know what…..I’m 37 years old, I have not ever worn REAL SHOES in my whole life and I am not going to start. I will just suffer the consequences. Toes or no toes. And I still want that machete. I really think if I had a heavier longer blade I would be better off. I hear you laughing but I’m dead serious.

 

Pea with Squash on the left and Tomatoes on the right.

The parsnips have also gone to seed and I collected a bunch of those seeds also. I am waiting until it frosts to dig them up and harvest what is edible; if any.

 

That is Pea about 3-4 weeks ago. Mutant Swiss Chard and parsnips to the left and Tomatoes to the right.

Some of the tomatoes are seven feet tall. Not an exaggeration. They have exceeded the top of the five foot cages sooooo far that they have broken over. I now have some of them tied up to the greenhouse beams and the others are sprawled on the ground like octopi. We have picked a good start and they are just really getting going.

<Visualize a beautiful pic of an entire colander full of cherry tomatoes and a pile of others in various sizes.> (Stupid camera.)

Sav and I dug the Yukon Gold potatoes this morning. I left the purple ones (can’t remember the exact name of what I planted) in the ground because the tops are still going to town.

<Visualize Sav’s smiling face next to a big basket of freshly dug potatoes.>

The squash siege has begun.

<Visualize a HUGE pile of zucchini and yellow patty pan piled on my counter top.>

We have also picked a mess of hot peppers, eggplant, and one cucumber.

I couldn’t grow cucumbers this year. Just wasn’t in the stars. The first round came up and were eaten by the deer (have I told you this already?); the second bunch did not come up at all. Only one lonely little vine. So I have picked one lonely little cucumber this morning and that is it.

<Vizualize pic of eggplant, peppers and one cucumber on my kitchen counter here.>

This isn’t really as much fun without the pictures I have to say. *SIGH*

2 Comments

  1. Claudia said,

    September 5, 2011 at 6:02 PM

    Poor baby, Thank goodness that’s the past, now get-set ready go, create new memories.

  2. Vic said,

    September 7, 2011 at 7:03 AM

    Wait a minute……………..what about those boots from your Cousin “Doc” I remember seeing you wear? What could be more “real shoe” than that?!
    I hope Santa is alerted that we will sorely miss Sav photo ops in the greenhouse!!!!
    My own visualization of you and mini-you in uniform with matching flip-flops…………(many Giddy Giggles)…..love it!


Leave a Reply

