BEHOLD…

(Pretend you are hearing the theme to 2010 A Space Odyssey in your head. ba ba baaaadaaaaaa)

 

 

The first egg!!

It is from one if the Americanas (note the teal (Easter Egg) color). I can’t wait for tomorrow. I’ll be checking the hen-house like 47 times before the sun sets.

 

 

In other related new: We now have 15 chicken total. That would be 14 hens and 1, count him, 1 rooster. The other rooster met an untimely demise at the end of a very large stick wielded by none other than Mr. Martin. And then his neck rung by Mr. Martin. And then his head chopped off with a knife by Mr. Martin. (I hope that PETA is not reading this or any of my vegan readers are offended. Sorry. Way of the world. Not always pretty.) But he was the toughest dang rooster! He would not die. He got mean and was getting meaner every day. So that sealed  his fate as the one to go. I would have liked to have found him a home but he was getting so mean that I would have felt guilty giving him to someone else even. He was going to seriously injure a hen at anytime. It was not a total waste though. Isaac now has very beautiful chicken parts curing in a box on the back porch for future fly tying. Fishing flies for sale.

Matt said when they were still little that he wanted to name one Lucky. Rightly so the one remaining rooster is called Lucky. Or you may also call him by his Native American name. Broken Toe. (The past-tense rooster broke his toe in a brawl somehow…..see that’s what I was talking about.) He has one toe that is kinked around to the side. Doesn’t seem to bother him though. He is the happiest rooster in all the land. So happy that he crows day and night. Literally.  He crows at sun up. He crows at sun down. He crows at noon. And anytime day or night that he feels it or hears my voice.  He is quite the flirt. Which was cute at first. Kinda rooster for, “Hey Baby, what’s shakin’?” “How you doin’?” I’d be in the yard and he would act all perky and strut around……but now at 3:30 in the morning when he is missing me because we have been separated for several hours….not so cute.

 

PS- There is my mother's hand again holding the egg. So weird!
(Sav came in a asked,"How does the camera do that? 
Make your hand look like Nana's hand?") Weird!
 
5 Comments

  1. beth said,

    August 19, 2011 at 4:56 AM

    I’m excited about the egg!!! I can see why you are so attached to the chickens….I miss them myself. Hope you get lots more today!

  2. Vic said,

    August 19, 2011 at 6:47 AM

    I knew you’d be a champion chicken herder!

  3. Shirley Moore said,

    August 19, 2011 at 8:20 AM

    I love the color of the egg! Good luck with the rest and hope you get lots!!!!

  4. nana said,

    August 19, 2011 at 11:14 AM

    So proud of you, growing your own eggs. And with my hands.

  5. Claudia said,

    August 19, 2011 at 9:05 PM

    I am still laughing, out of the mouths of “Babes”.
    Love the color of the egg. So did you have rooster and noodles??
    Enjoy your blog!!!


Leave a Reply

