Big Granny

Coolie-cups remind me of my great grandmother. She always had a coolie-cup on her can of Hams, sitting in her lawn chair in the shade smoking her cigarette, wearing her ball cap that always looked on the slightly too big side.  I think that is because she didn’t like things tight on her head.

She also liked cold sheets (guess that is where I get it from). If you shared the bed with her, she always warned you to stay on your own side and don’t be warming up her side before she got in. (I constantly move my feet across the bottom of the bed looking for a new cool spot once the one I’m in gets warm.)

The feel of a coolie-cup reminds me of family BBQ’s in her back yard under the apple tree. Warm sun, cool grass under your toes and a nice breeze every once in a while. The sound of the back screen door slamming as people move from the house to the yard and vise versa and of my Uncle Jim laughing (he always laughs – even in the worst of times, he finds a reason to smile and laugh).

If there was a blue jay around making a nuisance of himself, she would cuss it and it probably would not be around for very long.

I can still hear her holler, “You kids are gonna get belly aches from eating those green apples!” We never did. At least I didn’t. I never pooped like a tied goose from it either for that matter.

She would sip her beer and we would share a raw onion. She would lean in closer to me and say real low, “I knew I liked you for some reason.” Referring to me loving the onion and none of the other kids would touch it. Then she would wink at me and lightly swat my butt, which was my signal to go play. Sometimes she would let me have a little sip of her beer before she sent me scampering away.

She was the most grounded beautiful soul I have ever seen yet in my time so far and I had the pleasure of sharing this earth with her for seventeen years.

Thank you coolie-cups.

3 Comments

  1. Aunt Krazy said,

    July 12, 2011 at 5:56 AM

    I am so glad that you were able to spend time with her! I loved the days of the bbqs and the apple tree and the sounds of the screen door slamming and Uncle Jim’s laughter. Thank you for sharing the memories…I love you!

  2. nana said,

    July 13, 2011 at 11:13 AM

    Reading your post, I can see it all, feel it all. It was one of the happiest times of my life. I loved her so much. Miss her so much.

  3. Dad said,

    July 20, 2011 at 8:03 AM

    Really choked me up. Good memories are to be treasured. I’m so happy you got to be part of her life. She loves you and all the rest of her family very deeply. All my Love, Dad


Leave a Reply

