Spring is looking Springier.

It is looking more springish around these parts. This morning the birds were singing more happily. Of course that could be due to the fact that the sun is shining today after two days to rain, drizzle and more pouring rain. The birds were just happy to be able to sing and not get choked on water, I think. But this made me happy also.

Walking to school, I saw flashes of yellow and white as the bulb buds are preparing to open.  You could possibly see a daffodil this afternoon in select locations.

Inspired by all the springiness in the air and the fact that I ate the end of the bag of Cheez-Its (about two handfuls) and some homemade peanut butter cookies yesterday. I decided to have a smoothie this morning. This idea came from Angela at OhSheGlows.com.  Angela calls them Green Monsters. I simply call them smoothies. Jay calls them slug puree.

The concept is simple. You add greens to your smoothie. Sounds gross. Looks repulsive. Tastes surprisingly good. The fruit really covers up the taste of the veggies.

This morning’s contained kale, cranberry juice, blackberry yogurt, ground flax seed and a few chucks of frozen peaches. Tastes yummy! You just have to acclimate to the texture. You can chew it slightly. I microwave my greens for about 30 seconds before throwing them in the blender. Just to break them down slightly first.

The greens add a great nutritional punch and really fill you up. Oh She Glows has lots of recipes posted on a site dedicated to Green Monsters (http://greenmonstermovement.com/) but I have been experimenting with my own flavors. I tend to like my smoothies tart and not too sweet.

On with the day.

2 Comments

  1. Vic said,

    March 14, 2011 at 6:01 PM

    Verrrrrry interesting! I think Jay and Butch would get along swimmingly !

  2. Shirley Moore said,

    March 16, 2011 at 7:08 PM

    OK I’m really not that adventuresome in my eating! Sorry!
    You go girl and don’t let us stop you!


Leave a Reply

