Garden Report

Today was a beautiful day. The last time I looked at the thermometer it was 56. Bright and sunny. Of course today is the day that several days ago I planned  to paint the hallway. So I was stuck in the house painting. But when I had to stop to wait for the paint to dry ( in lieu of watching it); I snuck out to the garden to get a little bit done. Under the green house plastic it was even warmer. Woot! 

I started seeds in six-packs for broccoli, cauliflower, kale mix (Mix=We don’t know what we will get. Like the kale lottery!), bak choi and another kind chinese cabbage.

And of course I pulled some weeds, never ending.

Then I threw the tidbit of Musclun mix in the empty flower pot on the front porch. FYI- Lettuce (iceberg, green leaf, and red leaf) was $2.99 each at the Etna grocery store on Monday. Need I say that I plan on growing a lot of lettuce.

Some of the parsnips look very promising. I had the thought, “Should I pull the biggest one for St. Patrick’s Day?” Probably not, but the urge may prove to be too much to resist by the 17th.

On an up note, I think that I am winning the slug war. I only saw one slug today and I am happy to report that he is no more. Poor thing. I wonder if there is a slug heaven?

Broccoli-raab looks good. Has flower heads on already. Need to read up on broccoli-raab, as I have not grown it before, do I need to pinch those out? Because I was really expecting them to be quite a bit bigger before I saw flower heads.

Next tasks: sow lettuce in garden (romaine, and red variety called Mascara), sow spinach, and peas (Snow and an un-identified variety found in seed box), continue to fight slugs and weeds.

~After note: the paint did not dry enough for me to finish so I must do the second coat tomorrow. Poo. I was planning on being done today. Further prove that I really could get a lot done if everything would just stay out of my way.

~Humorous after note: I put my hair in pigtail/buns type things to paint in hopes that it would keep some paint out of my hair. Upon observation in the mirror, I was surprised at how much I resembled Red from Fraggle Rock. hmmmmm….. …..and I ran to the store to get a bottle of Cabernet and plain yogurt (cause I can’t live without either of them apparently), I told Jay I don’t know whether or not it is the pigtails or the fact that I am covered in paint but an elderly gentleman winked at me and some other guy tried to make small talk. I guess I need to cover myself in paint, dirt and slug slime more often. Jay suggested that I go hang out up at Bob’s Ranch House tonight, someone might buy me a milkshake. At the mention of free milkshakes the kids all want to go but I am not going to get any free milkshakes with three kids in tow!

 

 

Gangsta Painter and Gorilla Gardener!

(who looks like she got a little too much sun on her part. oops.)

3 Comments

  1. Dad said,

    March 10, 2011 at 12:19 AM

    The slug problem is a no brainer. Just give all three kids a salt shaker. Like we did you in Oregon. You entertained yourself for many hours and at the same time provided pest control for Granny’s garden.

  2. Vic said,

    March 11, 2011 at 7:41 AM

    I so miss being in the greenhouse! It’s pansy season! Sigh!

  3. Shirley Moore said,

    March 12, 2011 at 9:10 PM

    Ok I’m really feeling lazy that I don’t have a greenhouse going!
    Sounds like we all will need one!
    Good for you!
    Keep the convicts working!


Leave a Reply

