I do like dirt, being accountable and other things

I have decided to add a category chronicling the garden this year. I decided this today while I was pulling weeds in the garden. I also wondered if I should prehaps have separate blogs. This one is such a soup pot of subjects. I have photography, food, life, kids, humor, miscellaneous thoughts on all subjects and now add gardening. Then I decided that no, I will not have separate blogs. First of all it is enough for me to keep up with one blog much less multiple blogs. Second, this is my life. One big soup pot of craziness. And I love it that way.

I find it amazing how the simple act of running your fingers through dirt seems to clear your mind and simplify decisions. Major decision such as blog issues(hee hee). And garden issues. While I was pulling my arch nemisises from the dirt and contemplating the garden future for the year and whether or not to add it to my blog, I realized that when I put things on my blog it makes me accountable. I know that everyone is now aware of what I am doing and watching me per say. And even though I love to garden, I also like to procrastinate the chores in the garden that are not my favorite. Even though I get a deep satisfaction when the said chores are complete, for some reason I still put it off. Just like exercising! Oh my. I have problems.

Thus, I made the decision to chronicle the garden. Now you are all watching and waiting, so therefore I have to go out there and do it. Or something like that. As I have said before, I am happily mental.

For those of you that have no interest or simply don’t care to read about me blabbering on and on about the garden. Feel free not to read.

So in the garden:

It is a dreary day here today. Misting and drizzling rain all day. Little bit windy. Overcast. Cool but not cold. Okay, cold for Arizona and Texas standards. Let me check the temp…..hold on, be right back…..45. In the height of the afternoon. Not even as bad (cold) as I thought it would say.

But in the greenhouse, it is warmer and the wind is blocked and I took off my coat after about 15 minutes of work. The rain is pattering on the plastic above and it reminded me of Coos Bay. It sounded just like the rain on my Granny’s car port. Which made me smile.

We have some veggies that overwintered. Kale, spinach, cabbage, swiss chard, parsnips, carrots, garlic and the broccoli raab seedlings that  sowed later than the rest of the crew.

A couple of weeks ago everything was looking very sad. We had not had very much sun for about three weeks and it was really cold. Now we have had some milder weather and sun. It is like a miracle. Everything has perked up (I was beginning to thing it wasn’t going to make it).

The kale is suddenly bushy again, filling out and putting on new leaves. I had trimmed them down to as far as they could go and still stay alive. Go kale!

I have never grown parsnips before. I now have maybe 10 or 12 that have survived the winter and me (long story). Parsnips have a very long growing season. When I planted them in the fall I was hoping to harvest so that they could accompany the corned beef on St. Patty’s Day. But I do not think that is going to happen. Parsnips are also very finicky about their soil. They demand very light airy soil otherwise they fork and split as they grow. I have no doubt that ours will be just that. If you chop them up small enough, no one can tell and I suspect that they will still taste the same. I’ll get back to you on that.

Carrots. I usually don’t grow carrots. Not that I haven’t. It is just that carrots tend to not like me so therefore I do not grow them. These carrots are no exception. I planted two kinds of seed that we already had. One variety did not come up at all (I am going to say it was old seed and not me). The other has so far produced small and puny and rather sad looking carrots. To prove my point in case, here is a whopper of the bunch.

Look honey, I shrunk the carrots! But it does taste good. I had this one for snack.

The spinach is looking a little bit sallow. It has been producing well all winter though but if it does not perk up soon I will be forced to rip it all out and start over. (Did you hear that spinach?)

Today I also rescued the swiss chard from under a mess of icky stringy ground cover type weeds (this crap is everywhere and I despise it).

This is also the first time that I have grown broccoli raab. It is looking good! I weeded them. Mulched them. Thinned them out and I plan on eating the thinned babies in my salad tonight for dinner.

I started with 12 cabbages in October. 6 purple and 6 green. I now have about 5 or 6 left. Slugs have devoured several. Lost a couple more to whatever and I suspect that a mouse gnawed down the biggest and prettiest purple one. How do they always know which one is your favorite. Little bastards.

The garlic looks great. It has shot up 3 or 4 inches since the weather improved. Those who know me and love me know that I love garlic. There are 40 currently growing. They will come out in the spring and more will go back in for summer season because if the economic world as we know it crumbles; I will still have garlic and I will defend it with my life.

As an added bonus, let me just say I love volunteers. They are like Santa left you a present in the gardening world. I found two green leaf lettuces in the broccoli raab.

That is all that is growing on out there at this moment. I just received my seed order in the mail today. I did not have to order very much because between what Jay and I already had combined, we just about had it all. Soon I will be starting seeds of cole crops to go in. Then onto warm weather (fun) stuff. Can you say tomatoes?

2 Comments

  1. GRANNY said,

    March 4, 2011 at 9:42 AM

    IT THRILLS ME THAT YOU LOVE TO DIG IN THE DIRT!!! ABOUT YOUR CARROTS AND THE LACK OF GERMINATION, CARROT SEEDS ARE VERY PERSNICKITY ABOUT SOIL TEMP. IF YOU DON’T HAVE ONE, INVEST IN A SOIL THERMOMETER. THIS AND THE FOLLOWING INFO FROM ” THE NEW SEED STARTERS HANDBOOK, WHICH IS INHERITED FROM PA AND IS FULL OF INFORMATION. IDEAL TEMP WILL BE 45*-85*, WITH THE QUICKEST GERMINATION AT 77*. THOUGHT YOU MIGHT LIKE TO KNOW THAT. GOOD LUCK IN YOU ENDEAVORS!!

  2. Vic said,

    March 5, 2011 at 9:45 AM

    Atta Girl!


Leave a Reply

