My Valentine

Do you know what this is?

Some may see a pile of rocks…To me this is hours of entertainment and joy.

I love rocks. Plain and simple.

I have always loved rocks. I have rocks that I drug home when I was a kid. Yes, I still have them today. As a matter of fact, I have one that I can see on my window sill at this very moment that I packed down off the mountain one day when Dad and I were trout fishing on the south fork of the Scott River. Well, I didn’t exactly pack it the whole way. It was quite a hike. We were fishing all day. The last leg of the hike was up a steep bank to the road and Dad offered to carry my creel. He wasn’t very happy when we got up to the truck and he found out it was a huge rock he was packing that was so heavy. In my defense, I did carry it the bigger part of the day.

I have lost a few rocks over the years. It is always sad when there is a casuality. That is a problem when you have a love affairs with rocks. They tend to be heavy. I have driven by houses that I used to live in and I look at the rocks in the yard and I say, “Oh, there is my rock.”

*sigh*

I took this picture because I knew that I could not take them all home with me. Sadly they do fall into the same category as all the dogs at the pound. Alas, I can not save them all. But if I might point out. Just look at that red one slightly right of center – I can’t believe I left him behind.

But I realized something this weekend.

We took a trip to the beach and stayed in the “new” camper (stay tuned for more pics and blog to follow).

We went to Agate Beach and combed for hours.

 

 

Jay also loves to look for rocks. Not just humor Shannon and let her look at the stupid rocks for a couple of hours so she will shut up about it already,

 

 

but truly enjoys looking for them and would stay out all day whether I was there or not.

I really love him.

5 Comments

  1. beth said,

    February 14, 2011 at 6:55 PM

    awwwww….that is sooooo sweet. You’re starting so scare me with all this mushy stuff! I’m glad you’re happy.

  2. j said,

    February 14, 2011 at 7:02 PM

    you and I my dear, are most definitely related. rocks, pebbles, stones, boulders… I want them all. and don’t get me started on seashells. (if you go back, could you please pick up that slightly blue/gray one directly below your red one? thanks.)

  3. kr said,

    February 14, 2011 at 7:34 PM

    I love rocks. I have rocks hiding in various places that I’ve carried around for about 55 years.
    Big Pa had to haul my rock collection up from the Feather River Canyon one summer…he wasn’t happy about that one, either. It must be a family thing.

    I’m glad Jay is a rock person, too. You guys will have an amazing collection to look back on and remember happy times and places!

  4. GRANNY said,

    February 14, 2011 at 8:35 PM

    AND I JUST LOVE PEOPLE THAT LOVE ROCKS!!! I STILL HAVE ROCKS I PICKED UP IN ARIZONA, MANY YEARS AGO. GRANDAD GOT OUT OF PATIENCE ONE DAY WHEN THE JEEP BEGAN TO LIST HEAVILY TO MY SIDE, AND MADE ME PICK OUT MY VERY SPECIAL ROCKS, AND ALL THE REST WENT OUT BY THE SIDE OF THE ROAD! I POUTED THE REST OF THE WAY HOME.

  5. Vic said,

    February 15, 2011 at 8:26 AM

    “Sigh”, Butch also knows all about my rocks and moving day. God bless him. I can’t believe you left the red one either!


Leave a Reply

