Carrot Oat Muffins Revisited

I have continued to tweek the muffin recipe and I have to say this batch turned out much better. They are lighter and fluffier than the last batch. Tasty.

I am changing the name of this recipe because they baked up better-they are no longer MINI. And they not really cakeish any more so I am switching to muffin. It is my blog and I am allowed. So there.

These, by the way, are topped with walnuts (versus walnuts inside the muffin) because I realized after I already had the batter in the muffin pan that I forgot to add the walnuts. Being as I love the nuts, the crunch is what I look forward to, I added them on top. Simple solution. Ta-Da.

1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 1/2 cup oats ( I used quick oats for obvious reasons noted in previous blog entry)

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp baking soda

1/3 cup dark brown sugar

dash of salt

1 cup unsweetened applesauce

2/3 cup crushed pineapple in juice

1 cup grated carrot

1 flax egg

1/4 cup water(or just enough to wet the batter if necessary)

chopped walnuts to top or mix into batter-your choice

Mix all dry ingredients thoroughly. Then add all wet ingredients except flax egg. Mix well, then add flax egg and mix until combined. Spoon batter into muffin pan. I sprayed with Pam but I don’t know if that is necessary. If you try it without and they stick; then oops, I guess it was necessary. Top with nuts. I used the back of a spoon to slightly push the nuts into the top of each muffin so they would not fall off after baking. Nothing makes me madder than to lose all the nuts off my muffin 😉 . Bake 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes.

Yummy! 

I think that this recipe has graduated out of the testing phase. I will continue to tweek it with variations depending on my mood. I’m thinking the addition of more fruits possibly. Such as diced fresh apple pieces or raisins or dried figs or dried dates or gated zucchini or apricots or the list goes on in my quest to cram in the most fruits and veggies.

New and improved Carrot Oat Muffins get 4 Stars.

 

5 Comments

  1. beth said,

    February 3, 2011 at 3:55 PM

    I’ll be waiting for the package in the mail!!! They look scrumpdillyishous!!!

  2. GRANNY said,

    February 3, 2011 at 8:55 PM

    THESE LOOK REALLY GOOD AND I WOULD LIKE TO TRY YOUR RECIPE. BUT TELL ME, PLEASE, WHAT IS A FLAX EGG AND WHERE WOULD I GET ONE??????? I KNOW ALL ABOUT THE GROWING OF FLAX FOR LINEN, AND I KNOW A LITTLE ABOUT FLAX SEED, AND IT’S HEALTH PROPERTIES, BUT A FLAX EGG.???????

  3. Leila said,

    February 4, 2011 at 7:53 AM

    I have the same question. What is a flax egg?? I suppose a regular egg would work they sound good, but I don’t recall every seeing flax eggs at the Clinton supercenter!

  4. Vic said,

    February 8, 2011 at 8:16 AM

    The flax oil was the only thing off your previous shopping list that I could not find at our shopping locations. I’m with Auntie Beth, I’ll be waiting!!!

  5. Vic said,

    February 8, 2011 at 8:20 AM

    Sorry, I mean flax”seed”. All this healthy stuff is soooooo outside my previous lifestyle!!!!! New ground!


Leave a Reply

