Mini Carrot Oat Cakes

Today I was inspired to try to create a new recipe. Not just any recipe. A new baking recipe. Creating a savory recipe is easy. You know what flavors go together, imagine how the flavors are going to blend together. If you concentrate, you can almost taste the vision.  Baking on the other hand is a horse of a different color. There is more chemistry folded into the equation. I suck at chemistry (Which by the way is why I also do not make candy of any way , shape or form. I can’t have my artistic personality constricted by a thermometer!). In school, I sucked at chemistry. I wonder how I ever became a successful hair colorist? I think simply because hair color is more art (at least my twisted little brain sees it that way). That is probably why there were several occasions when my superiors said,”You can’t do that to someone’s hair. And I said, “Sure I can. Watch. Ta-Da!” The colors are like art. Art is much easy for me. Chemistry=Bad. Art=Good.

Anyway…back to the recipe of the day. The true inspiration for today’s recipe sprang from the fact that this morning I was opening the new container of oatmeal that I bought yesterday (I have oatmeal about 4-5 times a week for breakfast now. Good protein source. Sticks with you so you are not hungry again in an hour. With a little flax oil (no butter) and agave nectar (no sugar). It is scrumptious. Cures my sweet craving in the morning) when I realized that I accidentally bought quick oats instead of the old fashioned kind. YUCK! I hate them. First of all , why do I need quick oats when the real deal takes only five, count them, 5 minutes to cook? So I immediately started thinking to myself, “Self, what the hell are you going to do with this whole big container of crappy quick oats?”  You know me, I can’t just throw them away. The kids won’t eat them. My only option is to feed them to the dog (and she did not look enthused about oatmeal) oooorrrrrrr….I could use them IN something. Something like a applesauce banana oat muffin perhaps.

Well after scavenging the cabinets for ingredients and determining that the bananas were not ripe enough to mash; I settled on something similar to a carrot cake (that is my fave!). Unsweetened applesauce, grated carrot, crushed pineapple, walnuts, cinnamon and nutmeg. The batter tasted delicious. I only added a 1/3 cup of brown sugar, they are not real sweet but the carrot and pineapple and applesauce add their own sweetness. No oil of any kind (except the natural oils in the walnuts-can you say good for you). And no egg. I used a flax egg instead. You mix ground flax seed with water and it gets kinda slimy like an egg white. Plus the flax is good for you-provides omega-3. I have never used a flax egg before. So this is where the whole chemistry thing comes in……

 YEA, so anyway….

They are dense, of course. Without an egg, I expected them to be on the dense side and only rise maybe a little. They did not rise at all. As a matter of fact, I don’t really think that there was any point in putting them in the muffin tin. I should have just plopped them on a cookie sheet and they probably would have been fine. I don’t think they moved in the slightest while in the oven. They are filling. I’ll give them that. And they do taste good. I like them. Jay shared two with me. We shared one and then decided we had better share another. Since he had seconds, they must not be too bad. But I am not posting the recipe at this time. It is a work in progress. Or next time I might decide that the first run was better and regret any changes I make.

*Sigh* Chemistry.

I have a few ideas rolling around, artistically, in my brain for the next run. Cause I have a lot of quick oat to use up. 

Then I compensated my recipe not so success with a very large bowl of homemade chicken and dumplings (U-Oh I don’t think that is really on the food plan).

Lastly, I think maybe I should rate the recipes I post. Five stars being the highest. So I would have given the grilled pear and fontina five stars. And the Green Quinoa Salad (new name by the way) four stars. Would have five but the tomato has to go. And what shall I call these muffins? Mini Carrot Oat Pucks…I mean Cakes get three stars.

2 Comments

  1. Vic said,

    January 24, 2011 at 8:00 AM

    And your new column get five stars! Love it!
    I am a “steel cut” oats girl now. Takes more time and monitoring but so much more fiber. I still keep quick oats around for filler in ground meat dishes like meatloaf and such but if you add enough raw nut varieties and raisins and cranberries and an occasional handful of pomagranates you can get by. I must remember to look for flax oil and agave nectar, but my resources ARE limited here in the black hole of shopping.
    I have to admit, though, that the slimy flax egg sounds strange.

  2. GRANNY said,

    January 24, 2011 at 3:33 PM

    SHANNON, REALLY, WHAT WERE YOU TRYING TO BUILD???
    THERE ARE SOME REALLY WEIRD INGREDIENTS IN THIS CONCOCTION, BUT ONE OF THESE DAYS YOU WILL COME UP WITH SOMETHING THAT HITS THE JACKPOT!!!! AS FOR THE QUICK OATS, THEY CAN BE INCORPORATED INTO ANY NUMBER OF RECIPES. MEATLOAF, OATMEAL COOKIES, ETC. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.


Leave a Reply

