Green Quinoa

I am not even sure what to call this dish – besides good. I can’t take 100% credit for the creation of it. I have had a sauce similar over rice or potatoes from a very wonderful vegetarian cook in Arizona. But I took it and played with it some. Switched it up.

Quinoa. Quinoa is the most nutritious grain you can eat. Depending on the variety, it can hold anywhere from 5 – 13 grams of protein per 1/2 cup cooked! It is high in calories but for the vitamin and mineral content it contains – it is worth it. Plus I love the chewy firm texture. It sort of  pops in your mouth when you bite it.

Cooks just like brown rice on the stove top. This is one cup, cooked, makes two cups, and cooled quinoa (the average variety, I know it also comes in red, maybe others I have yet to discover.).

I toasted mustard seeds, camino, and red chili flakes in a cast iron skillet to bring out the oils/flavors. It adds this yummy smokey flavor that is to die for.

While the seeds were toasting, I speared a fresh jalapeno on the meat fork and roasted over gas burner. Chopped cilantro and green onions.

Peeled and seeded jalapeno. (Note to self: Do not lick fingers(cause I did) or touch eyes. I took out most of the seed(left just a few) because I got a little carried away with the chili flakes as it was already.

Threw the jalapeno and cilantro into the food processor and whizzed until green puree. Add plain yogurt and whiz. Then add toasted seeds and whiz some more. Taste and smile (Careful tasting. Do not use a jalapeno finger).

Then I mixed sauce with quinoa and chopped veggies: green bell pepper, seeded cucumber, tomato and green onions.

I LOVE it! Though next time I think I will leave out the tomato just because I thought it was prettier when it was all green. I also had a thought to add a splash of jalapeno juice from the pickled ones in the fridge……hmmmmm.

4 Comments

  1. beth said,

    January 22, 2011 at 6:42 PM

    Yummy! I found the quinoa at the store tonight. Your food blog is almost as good as the pioneer womans!

  2. GRANNY said,

    January 22, 2011 at 8:19 PM

    I’VE BEEN READING ABOUT QUINOA AND NEXT TIME I GO TO THE STORE I INTEND TO GET SOME AND TRY IT. I’VE SEEN SEVERAL GOOD SOUNDING RECIPES.

  3. Claudia said,

    January 22, 2011 at 9:57 PM

    I can’t imagine finding quinoa in Clinton, but Beth said she did (I guess that’s our Beth). Can’t do hot myself. but it looked great. You need your own web page or cook book, the pictures were wonderful. You are so talented, now how can we merchandize that??

  4. Vic said,

    January 23, 2011 at 11:59 AM

    Yum, I agree on the tomato part, too.


Leave a Reply

