?Really?

Somehow, today, I got sucked into the Real Housewives of Atlanta. This would be my first experience with Real Housewives of any region.

Looking back, I’m not quite sure how it happened. I was browsing for something to watch while I took the rare opportunity to paint my nails (doesn’t happen as often as I would like any more; the nail painting part). I should have stuck with FoodNetwork – my good ol’ stand by. I know that now.

But…..it was like a car accident! I couldn’t look away. Like a bus load of collagen/silicon injected mental patients that have no touch with reality involved in a 15 car pile up on the freeway at rush hour car accident. And I was stuck in traffic gawking rudely – mouth a gape.

Who are these people?

After two episodes I mustered the strength to reach for the remote (despite the subliminal messages to watch more) and kill the unrealistic reality show. I knew I had to save myself. No one else was home and my salvation was up to me and me alone.

I did it. Thank God. And now I know the horrors that lay behind the curtain called Real Housewives. I wish I could take it back but I can never regain those precious minutes of my life squandered.

Let this be warning to you all. Look sharp.

5 Comments

  1. kroyall said,

    January 21, 2011 at 7:16 PM

    Oh, isn’t TV great? I got stuck on the bridal shows the other day. Don’t go there. DON”T GO THERE.

  2. j said,

    January 21, 2011 at 7:21 PM

    I watched a housewife marathon one time. Hours and hours and hours of women yelling, flirting, and drinking and not one of their foreheads moved in the slightest. It was like watching a medical procedure- you don’t want to see it but you really can’t stop looking.

  3. GRANNY said,

    January 21, 2011 at 8:47 PM

    haven’t tried it, and i’m glad you warned me.

  4. Vic said,

    January 22, 2011 at 1:49 PM

    OMG…… Have you seen the PINK-haired, preacher-lady on one of those late-nite gospel shows?! The children from the third world country she was passing out “Barbie” dolls and toy cars and singing carols to at Cmas were truly frightened of her! It was like “Tammy Faye” to the tenth power

  5. Vic said,

    January 22, 2011 at 1:51 PM

    Truly Traumatic!


Leave a Reply

