Sometimes I like to pretend I am important.

The overall appearance of the Holiday Inn in Redding California was very sprawlingly impressive from the exterior. The front lobby was spacious and clean with the restaurant directly adjacent.

The restaurant proved to have enjoyable food with slightly inflated prices, typical of eating at a hotel establishment. They did have Tangerine on tap which earned them extra points to compensate in other areas as far as I was concerned.

The room was very nice and clean. Seemingly to have been recently remodeled with granite counter tops and an extra wide wonderful bathtub with endless amounts of hot water. One could shower then bath or bath and then shower repeatedly…and I did. On the downside, the bathroom door could not be left open without blocking the main pathway through the room. So the door must be kept closed and the tile floor that looked great proved to be very cold on bare feet when shut off from the heat source. Great in July; not great in January.

The bed was the perfect firmness and slept great but the bed linens were slightly lacking in the fact that they were very lightweight and I prefer to feel the weightiness of substantial covers on a bed. The second night I called housekeeping to provide an extra blanket which pleasantly solved the problem. The heater could be cranked up sufficiently in order to sleep naked on top of all covers if one chose to do so….and I did.

The note left on the counter by the management was rather disturbing. It stated that parts of the building were under construction and the noise of construction would begin as early as 7 AM. I found this a great inconvenience and was extremely aggravated and disturbed for 5 seconds until I realized that the workers would be present Monday through Friday only and not on the weekends.  Therefore not effecting my overnight stay. We were unable to use the stairwell closest to our room due to the construction. We were forced to use the stairs at the other end of the hall which  passed by the smoking rooms. This was a stinky hallway and I chose to hold my breath and probably unconsciously scrunched my nose like my six-year-old daughter also.

The creme brulee served late on the second evening by room service was superb. It followed a shower then bath and preceded naked sleeping perfectly.

Overall it was a most excellent and wonderful weekend. I would give the establishment four and half out of five stars.

2 Comments

  1. Vic said,

    January 10, 2011 at 6:47 PM

    There you go, your next occupation…… maybe they’ll give you your own column like “Carrie Bradshaw” ! Just exactly who “they” are, I haven’t quite figured out yet.

  2. Claudia said,

    January 10, 2011 at 7:28 PM

    That must have been a super place, I’ve seen you at 3:00 in the morning, in boxer shorts screaming at noisy people and you don’t hold back, I really didn’t expect you to give any place 4 1/2 stars.HEEEEEEE. I am proud of you!!


Leave a Reply

