Diary of an Inexperienced Knitter Vol I

Knitting Day One:

After reading through the how to book so generously loaned to me by my sister. And then texting my sister to ask questions. And then talking to my sister on the phone to ask her which casting on method she thinks is easiest thus I should start with.

Excerpt from book:

            Step 1- Wrap the yard around the right needle as if to knit.

WTF?! “As if to knit!”  That’s great but I do not know yet how to knit so therefore I do not know how to as if to knit or what the heck they are even referring to in the slightest. Thank goodness my sister (knitter extraordinaire) walked me through it.

Soooooo…… I practiced casting on and even got a few stitches to follow.

TA DA!!!

I have decided that my first project shall be to knit winter sweaters for all the earthworms in the garden.

One down-Thousands to go…

3 Comments

  1. Claudia said,

    September 24, 2010 at 6:18 PM

    I had that bug once. My sister suggested socks, I finished one sock and decided it wasn’t for me. Never could find a one footed person that could use it. It’s that counting stitches, no way I can keep my attenton for that long.Cecil did sweaters. sweater dresses, socks, scarves, gloves, anything that can be knited. She was very good.

  2. kr said,

    September 24, 2010 at 7:03 PM

    Oh Claudia, your one footed person would probably be the same as the armless lady that my friend Debbie made the dress for,.many years ago.

  3. GRANNY said,

    September 25, 2010 at 12:28 PM

    DON’T PULL YOUR STITCHES TOO TIGHT OR YOU WILL CHOKE THE LITTLE WORMS!!!


Leave a Reply

