The Moving Road Trip: Day One

Overall it was a great road trip. We only had one princess tantrum(which was right out of the gate so got it over with and nipped it in the bud) and the whole trip was crowned with the worst case of canine flatulence in the history of the world. The picture on the right shows Jay doing everything he can possibly come up with in order to gain some relief without exiting the vehicle at 65 miles per hour.We got on the road earlier than anticipated. Great start. Made good time. Landed for the night in Fresno(well over half the journey).  

The kids rotated turns riding in the Uhaul, as did the drivers. Arriving in Fresno; it was the boys and I in my truck and Jay with Pea in the Uhaul. I pulled into the motel parking lot and watched the Uhaul roll in. I walked to greet it and was looking up at the driver’s door as it swung open. I wish I had a camera at that very moment. The look on Jays face was indescribable. 

At first I thought something was seriously wrong. I had one of those mother panic moments when my heart skipped a beat with the anticipation of what had happened. Then a nanosecond later I burst into laughter as I realized that the look was complete listening exhaustion. 

They say a picture is worth a thousand words. In this case it was an estimated 400 billion. That averages out to 1,142,857,143(one billion one hundred forty-two million eight hundred fifty-seven thousand one hundred forty-two) per mile that Jay and Pea were in the Uhaul together that afternoon. 

He declared, “She has not drawn a breath for 350 miles! OH MY GOD!” 

Now I know what my face looks like after a long day of Savanah conversation/questioning. 

We ordered a pizza, walked the dogs, swam the kids and collapsed in the room for the night.

3 Comments

  1. Claudia said,

    July 19, 2010 at 7:39 PM

    SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Funny!!!!

  2. GRANNY said,

    July 19, 2010 at 8:11 PM

    WHERE ARE YOU GOING??????? SOUNDS LIKE LOADS OF FUN TO ME.

  3. Vic said,

    July 21, 2010 at 10:57 AM

    lololololololololololololololol


Leave a Reply

