The Next Phase

My real estate property management career has come to a close….rather sedatley.  Not much more than a few beers, game of darts and some super good super bad for you fried bar food to usher it out. This past Monday was my last day at the West Valley office and this up coming Monday represents my official final day as the East Valley Property Manager. My duties will pretty much end tomorrow as I hand all the files, documents and info off to my replacement at high noon in the Wendy’s parking lot half way between her house and mine.

This past Monday(which already seems a long time ago) was strange. Surreal even. I came home after work and bar send-off about 10PM and found myself extremely melancholy. A reaction that I was totally unprepared for. I had been counting down and anticipating this day for so long. I am not sure what I expected but being as depressed as I was, was not it.

I am not sure if it was simply the let down of something that you look forward to for so long (like the day after Christmas).  Maybe it is because I was shown the same enthusiasm that was exerted for any other event surrounding my employment. Or the fact that I am leaving behind a very large phase of my life that I worked very hard at, and in some sick masochistic way did find rewarding as far as careers go, got great satisfaction from it and took pride in.

Of course I take pride in any task I decide to conquer. That is just how I am. That is the hard wiring. Something that many of my coworkers and even a boss or two don’t seem to understand. I just can’t seem to do a shit job-no matter how hard I try. Even after the higher-ups piss me off and I say that I don’t give a crap anymore-I still can’t bring myself to do a bad job.

So now I am at home sort of wandering around without direction, looking at all the stuff I need to accomplish over the next two weeks. I feel like I am suffering from shell shock. Career fallout. I don’t really know how else to describe it. It is picking up though. Today was more productive than the day before(even with a 5-year-old with the stomach flu) and the day before that and so on…… Cause Tuesday really sucked.

If I had a little more experience at this unemployment business I would be four days into a solid nap on the couch by now, getting up only to pee, eat a peanut butter and jelly sandwich while hovering over the kitchen sink, and smoke. But I guess I just didn’t pay enough attention to my ex husband’s technique with how to cope. Besides I don’t have a couch so I’m pretty much screwed there. As my sister would say, “I could take to my bed.” But ahck, that’s just not my style.

So setting a new course for productivity tomorrow. 5-year-old throw-up sessions allowing. And onward ho!!! We are initiating the next phase.

1 Comment

  1. Aunt Krazy said,

    June 1, 2010 at 9:27 AM

    a 4 day nap??? Holy cow! That’s equal to being in a coma!

    Well anyway, you have way too much energy to do the long-term nap thing. You’ll get back to your normal level of energy soon and will get the move whipped into shape (and have fun doing it).


Leave a Reply

