Why Not?

“Can I take my pajamas off and go naked?”

I stood in the kitchen taking a parental moment to ponder the query this evening. I’m sure several expressions passed over my face as I looked down on my daughter as she stood there looking up at me with happiness sparkling in her eyes.

I finally responded,”Sure, why not?”

Frankly, I couldn’t come up with a good excuse not to. When I was her age, you couldn’t keep clothes on me unless it was so cold I just absolutely couldn’t stand being without them (as a matter of fact that is pretty much the case these days). I certainly would not have asked permission of anyone before stripping down. I would have just shucked the clothes, carried on with whatever I was doing and the next time an adult crossed my path (which was usually Granny or Mother), I would evoke the usual:

Where are your clothes?”

or

“Why are you naked?”

Granny would usually follow it with a giggle.

I don’t know how I responded then but now I would say, “Because clothes are a hassle, naked feels so much better, and because I can.” Of course.

So my daughter went about the remainder of the evening au natural and is currently sleeping safe in her bed the same way. I figured she will put them back on when she is ready (or we have to leave the house) and we might as well enjoy it before we girls share a house with boys again.

Why not?

1 Comment

  1. Claudia said,

    May 8, 2010 at 8:33 PM

    You are so funny. My kids missed out, they always had pj’s and never came out without a towel or robe. Of course they would escape when they were toddlers, but I’m sure they don’t remember that.


Leave a Reply

