A MOLE AND AN EYEBALL SITTING IN A TREE…

K-I-S-S-I-N-G……..You know the rest……..

I would like to tell you the story of Mr. Mole. Not the underground varmint kind but the beauty mark kind. Mr. Mole lived behind my right ear. Down a little by my jaw bone. It was his happy home for many years. As many as I can remember. I thought he was a nuisance but Pea saw something in him that I never did. When I would rock her, nurse her, snuggle with her or anytime that she needed to be comforted she would hold Mr. Mole.  From the time that she was old enough to hold her little hand up to my cheek. Whenever I would lay down with her she had to hold Mr. Mole. She would talk to him, kiss him and some days she would even run into the room to where ever I was; turn my head to the side just to check on him. He was her security blanket of sorts.

Then one sad day Mr. Mole was removed. I personally was quite relieved. Truthfully, I never cared much for him anyway. Pea Pod on the other hand was quite upset. It took her all of about 20 minuets after I came home to realize that he was missing.

“What happened to him? Where did he go? Did it hurt?” (this last one was more in concern for him also-not me.) She cried and we talked about it quite extensively.

Mr. Mole now lives in heaven. Which spurred a whole nother bushel of questions: “Does anyone know him there? Is he lonely without me to hold him? What if he gets stepped on by the Angels? Maybe he can fly if he gets wings too. Is Mr. Mole an angel now?”

And when Granny Cooper went to live in heaven Savanah knew she would not be lonely because Mr. Mole could now ride on Granny’s shoulder, so he would be safe even if he couldn’t fly. And Granny wouldn’t be lonely because she would have a mole. Mr. Mole.

She would frequently reflect on Mr. Mole, sometimes with teary eyes. To this day she still talks about him……….after I have forgotten, she reminds me.

Mr. Mole came up again today which is why I am now typing this before she grows up more. In case she doesn’t mention it again.

Today:

While we were loading up at Nana and Papa’s house to head home, I mentioned that we would be taking Dinah to the vet on Saturday to have the staples removed from her eye. Savanah asked excitedly,”Are they putting her eye back in?”

Papa replied, “Nope, the eye is gone for good.” (Oh boy, here we go………)

“Did Dinah’s eye go to heaven too?”

“Yes, I guess so.”

“Good. She can see Mr. Mole. I called it a she cause it came out of Dinah and Dinah is a girl so that makes her eye a girl. I hope she doesn’t get stepped on. Do you think that the angels would accidentally squoosh Dinah’s eye?”

I responded, “No. Angles float or fly most of the time in heaven.” Then the mental image was too much for me. I saw this eyeball and mole hanging out together on the street corner. Watching the angels float by. I looked over at my mother (I could see she was about to lose it also) and said,”Hey, I’m walking down here.” in my best Jersey accent.

We burst out laughing. Mom said,” I couldn’t get it out fast enough. I was going to say,’I’m looking down here!'” The laughter ensued.

Savanah continues on(she is used to us), “Yeah, they can be together. They could get married”

Under my breath,”Oh Lord, let’s hope they don’t procreate.”

Nana, “Oh no, a bunch of moley eyeballs.”

Mother and I laughed so hard that I thought I was going to pee my pants.

So Mr. Mole shall live in infamy. But at least now he will have some company in Dinah’s eyeball. I’m just not sure how Granny will feel about them both hanging around.

7 Comments

  1. kr said,

    April 28, 2010 at 9:16 PM

    🙂 Would love to have been there when your mom lost it!

  2. beth said,

    April 29, 2010 at 5:59 AM

    That is too funny! I’m surprised she hasn’t said anything about the cat being in heaven….not like her to forget anything!

    • April 29, 2010 at 6:49 AM

      Oh Yes, Whizza is there, too. Originally Mr. Mole lived with Remi and Grandpa Ray Don but she felt much better about Granny-since she knew her and knew Granny would take care of him.

  3. matt said,

    April 29, 2010 at 6:27 AM

    This story was so funny! It kind of reminded me of the little old lady who swallowed a spider nursery rhyme. A bunch of weird objects all hanging out together. If you haven’t told that one to Sav yet I think she would like it..

  4. GRANNY said,

    April 29, 2010 at 7:35 AM

    THIS SOUNDSA LIKE A TALE TO START AN OLD-FASHIONED GIGGLE-FEST THAT LASTS ALL DAY!! I CAN JUST SEE PEE-POD ASKING ALL THOSE QUESTIONS. I,M SO GLAD YOU ARE A FAST THINKER AND CAN COME UP WITH ANSWERS!!!

  5. Claudia said,

    April 29, 2010 at 7:23 PM

    I am crying sssssssssoooooooooooooo hard I can’t hardly see what you wrote. Now I am trying to decide what Pea Pods occupation is going to be when she grows up??? It’s got to be something uniqic.

  6. Vic said,

    April 30, 2010 at 9:38 AM

    I think I just peed my pants! Thank God Granny and Whizza are up there to keep them all in line.


Leave a Reply

