The Pirate Dog

I am now the proud owner of a one-eyed dog. And with this comes the sudden realization that my life has officially morphed into country songdom. Oh, the qualifications were there before, don’t get me wrong; it is just now with a one-eyed dog at my side, I can no longer deny it to myself. What’s next?

Dinah’s eye had to go. End of story. If you saw it you would know what I mean. Gross. I took her back to the vet this morning and the doctor confirmed what I already knew.

She is still pretty loopy-as I wish I was(I’m thinking I’m the one that shelled out several hundred dollars the least she could do is share her pain meds with me)-but she seems alright. Time will tell.

Heather and I have decided that Dinah has in fact earned the honor and is entitled to a new pirate name. We are taking suggestions. Heather is voting for One-Eyed Willie. I am still undecided. I’m thinking something with a little more pizzazz.

We (Heather and I) also decided that if my mother did a short stint in prison that would seal my fate for sure. So Mother-no stealing cars-ok (that means you, Denise).

3 Comments

  1. aunt krazy said,

    April 19, 2010 at 7:51 PM

    the world’s most famous pirate queen was named Grania O’Malley. There’s a great kids’ book…the Battle of the Pirate Queens by Jane Yolen, those two are Mary Read and Anne Bonny. And there was one who was named Pretty Peg. I like that one best. Then you can sing Peg of my Heart to your little puppy.

  2. Nana said,

    April 19, 2010 at 8:25 PM

    Do you know who Dinah Shore was? Anyone? I know I’m old. I’m not sure but I think she had a glass eye. I know one eye sorta wondered around when the camera was on her. If this is true maybe little Dinahs new name could be Mattie Shore say it like a pirate. HA, I’m laughing! And maybe I did do some time in the pokie you don’t know about.

  3. Vic said,

    April 22, 2010 at 10:40 AM

    OMG……I’d forgotten about wandering eyed Dinah, Burt’s ”
    old ” flame! That’s right up there with the Cracken. Arrrrrrgh! Good one Nana!


Leave a Reply

