How do you get a Band-Aid to stick inside your mouth? and How is the Tooth Fairy fairing in this economic climate?

When the school year started this past fall with the first day of Kindergarten, we were very apprehensive about the idea loosing teeth. Other kids had lost some or were in the process of loosing them. Savanah wanted nothing to do with it. She was very concerned about her teeth falling out. Even the perk of the Tooth Fairy visiting did not help. The Fairy could keep her money. Savanah did not care. No way-no how was she going to lose any of her teeth. And she snubbed her nose when I tried to explain that she did not really have a choice, it was going to eventually happen anyway. What do I know….

Fast forward a couple of months and suddenly the idea of loosing teeth and getting bigger ones is sounding more enticing. This idea snowballed to the point that she ate as many apples as she could get her hands on for about 3 weeks In January because someone told her if you ate apples it would loosen your teeth faster.

We now have our first loose tooth. Bottom left. Savanah woke up one morning about 10 days ago and as she was crawling up in my lap for our morning snuggle, she suddenly stopped, puzzled, said, “Mama, my tooth is taller.” She then felt it, “I think it is loose…?”

I said,”Let me feel.” I put my finger on it and felt the slightest of a wiggle. Gasping, “I THINK IT IS!”

Her eyes widened with elation, “ Yea! My first loose tooth!”

Since that morning, she has wiggled it every spare second. She can not keep her finger out of her mouth or now sticking her tongue against the back side of it and pushing it forward. Only to complain 12 times a day, “My tooth hurts.” She had it bleeding last night-which of course I would never tell her lest I unleash pure terror and anarchy inside our home. Blood is a taboo word around here.

Example-Last week she stubbed her big toe on the edge of the concrete sidewalk while playing in the sand at the playground wearing flip flops. It peeled back the hide and packed the wound full of sand. The 30 minutes that occurred later that night as I tried to get the dead skin off and sand removed were so horrific that she would have broken the will of and arose the victor against any decent Taliban Interrogator/Torturer with her defensive tactics (mentally and physically).  After finally convincing her to soak her foot in the warm soapy(anti-bacterial soap-because I know this is the closest to any sort of disinfectant/medicine I will even get close to the owie in question) in the bathroom sink. That the water is in fact NOT acid, that is in fact NOT going to eat her toe off her foot or cause excruciating pain. I then set to the task of removing the small piece of loose skin that was still attached and already dry and dead. In my defense-it had to come off. It was holding a grip of sand underneath it. I would have simply pulled it off if it were not for the shrieking banshee on the bathroom counter that chanted, “Don’t pull it!!!! Don’t pull it!!!!!!!!!!!” So I cut it off with my nail nippers as she continued to wail. She did not even know it was off and sniffed back tears trying not to seem surprised and relieved that it was over. And did NOT hurt I might add. It was such a production that Aunt Heather went to her room to try to escape-didn’t work-at which point she finally yelled across the hall, “Just let her foot rot off!” At last I did prevail and sealed the deal with a Band-Aid (which I snuck a glob of Vicks onto when she wasn’t looking).

All of this terror and horror is very hard to deal with for someone who as a child thought if her newest injury left a scar to show off that would be like the coolest thing ever. So much so I picked my scabs off and scratched the point of injury with the hopes that it would encourage it to scar more. My daughter has had next to none as far as childhood injuries go. In comparison, I had been banged-up and black and blue from head to toe by the time I was her age. I hoped one day that I would have something that was so bad I would have to get over 20 stitches because that would have just been like the purple heart of kiddom. I also cried when I got shots…if they wouldn’t let me watch that is.

Now we are on the cusp of our first lost tooth. I am anticipating maybe 2-3 days before it is out. She is so excited, she can not hardly wait(neither can I). This goes hand in hand with complaining the entire meal, every meal(any meal) that it s too difficult to actually eat(but I’m hungry!). Biting and chewing on one side is an idea so ludicrous that I can not believe I even suggested it. I mean how stupid am I? Really? I know nothing. I am a mother now. (Let me take this small opportunity to say, “I’m sorry, Mom. I love you.”)

So as Mama it brings many thoughts to my mind. Such as: when will we need braces? how much do braces cost? how hard is it to find a tiny tooth under the pillow of a sleeping baby monkey? And what exactly is the going rate for the Tooth Fairy these days anyway?

7 Comments

  1. Beth said,

    April 8, 2010 at 7:43 AM

    LOVE it! What the heck are doing with vicks on the bandaid!!!!!

  2. GRANNY said,

    April 8, 2010 at 9:13 AM

    VICKS REMOVES ALL SORENESS, IF THERE WAS ANY, AND I STILL USE IT ON ALL KINDS OF OWIES. THE TOOTH THING REALLY BEARS CONTINUOUS OBSERVATION. WILL SHE WANT A BAND-AID????

  3. kr said,

    April 8, 2010 at 7:51 PM

    The going rate for first teeth is at least a nice big silver dollar, if you can get your hands on one. It has to be silver (or gold would work too). It has to be a coin.
    the technique is to WRAP the tiny tooth in something that the TF (tooth fairy) can touch when reaching under the pillow. Gently pull the item out and at the same time, switch the coin.
    If the tooth should come out at a location other than home, under NO CIRCUMSTANCES do you let the child hold the tooth while in the car. It causes immense distress to all passengers when they drop the tooth and it slides right into the crack in the back seat while you are going 60 on the freeway. And then when you get stopped and try to retrieve the tiny tooth from the crack between the seats and you can feel it slide just a bit further…you have even more distress. So you fake it with whatever whitish tiny crumb you can find and tell the child that it’s the tooth. and hope they’ll believe it.

  4. Claudia said,

    April 10, 2010 at 12:18 PM

    I love it!!! Don’t loose the tooth, she will never beleive the crumb thing, which is very cute story, too. Where was I when My kids were little?? I don’t remember any of that stuff. Very Cute!!!!

  5. Nana said,

    April 11, 2010 at 8:56 PM

    When did my daughter become such a wonderful story teller? Was I to busy with work and life to realy listen to her? I know I tuned her out for my sanity. Then she grew up. And I’m sad I’m learning about her through her blog. I’m sorry Shannon. I love you and glad you are the wonderful Mother you are.

  6. Christy Goodwin said,

    April 12, 2010 at 11:57 AM

    going rate in GA is one dollar in very shiny quarters…

  7. Vic said,

    April 14, 2010 at 8:03 AM

    Oh, girlfriend, you were “ON” the day you wrote this. I love the way this diverse little creature brings out the “Sista” voice in your spirit that we all relate to. I knew you were smart, but you are on fire! You two are the “sparkle” on the cookies.


Leave a Reply

