My compass

Last night Savanah questioned me about someone in her life that has not held up his end of the bargain as far as she is concerned. As she does every so often. As to be expected.

The questions led to her wanting to know when we would be able to visit. I honestly answered, “I don’t know, Baby Goose.”

After a reflective moment she said very sullenly, “Mama, I wish you could control him.”

I just smiled at her and said, ” You can’t control other people. You can only control what you do.”

I will never comprehend how people can make the wrong choices for issues that seem so fundamentally simple. And it is the things that are the simplest that humanity seems to have the most problems with. I have made my share of mistakes but when I look into the biggest most beautiful blue/green eyes surrounded by freckles that I have ever seen (or even think of them in my mind’s eye) so many of my choices are easy to make. I suppose they are truly already made for me. I am just looking to see the way.

3 Comments

  1. Leila said,

    March 31, 2010 at 9:12 AM

    I couldn’t agree with you more. I too get those same questions, though not the same degree as you having to deal with. Ethan was very fond of him and still asks about him. Where is he at, whats he doing now??? When we drive by your old house he will say” Been along time.” It makes me sad and Larry is so disappointed. So I can only imagine what it is like for you guys. Stay strong and it will work out in the end.

  2. matt said,

    March 31, 2010 at 10:26 AM

    your writings are like a scripture. Very powerfull

  3. Claudia said,

    April 2, 2010 at 5:41 PM

    What an excellent answer. You do have an old soul. Keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

