Tick Tock

Tonight I watched The River Wild. 1994 thriller starring Meryl Streep, Kevin Bacon,  David Strathairn, John C. Reilly,and Joseph Massello(whom my daughter identified as the kid from the dinosaur movie). I saw this film when it was first released in 1994 and probably not since then but I remembered it very well. When watching it this time all I could think was how much of a remarkable woman Meryl Street is! And how old was she when this movie was made?…..Is that how I look now at 36?

She is so strong and beautiful. I can only hope I have half of the poise that she contains:

In 1994- By the time I was 20 years old, I had moved across country and started anew without knowing anyone, had been married for two years, had already worked my way through cosmetology school, started the first of my careers(rather successful career I think for a 20 yrs old), got my first tattoo with my husband and his best friend (who I’d like to think of now as my friend as well)present in pseudo-honor of our 2nd wedding anniversary(pseudo meaning I got what I wanted anyway(it is my ass, is it not?)).  Oh there were a lot of other miles stones by that point in time but these are the forerunners in my mind tonight(at least at this point in time-ask me in another 16 years and I might say differently).

  • New town, New people…some of the best friends and best people I have ever met.
  • My  career I worked at for 11 yrs before moving on to greener pastures. I still miss it and the people it brought into my life. Though I know I can never go back down that path.
  • The tattoo I will carry with me for the rest of my life and I have yet a day to regret doing it.
  • The marriage………well that is a story on its own. I learned a lot about myself. And life. And love. Or what love isn’t. But that story did not end for many years to come and I know also that I can never go back down that path nor have I the desire to do so. It lead to far greener pastures.

 She (Meryl Streep) was indeed 45 when the movie was made, not 36. I can only hope to aspire to be so much at 45. She was strong and beautiful and had biceps to die for…..well she was rowing a raft thru a large part of the film. Kevin Bacon was your usual slim ball villain……….she shot him.

Where will I be at 45? What will I say I have accomplished by then? Or how will I look back 16 years the other side of 45? Will I shoot any villians? Will I have 16 Oscar nominations and 2 awards…….probably not. But I hope I have some good stories to tell.

16 years ago….. Seems so long ago and yet it has passed so quickly.

So tomorrow I will take Savanah to the art museum and maybe get in a few push-ups too (got to work on those biceps).

Leave a Reply

